Saving the World One Day at a Time

Friends, please accept my apologies, this post is another song. It’s on YouTube at this link. I think this thing with songs is probably just a ‘phase’ and I’ll get back to calculating something soon.

The YouTube version is just me singing and accompanying myself with a guitar, but if you prefer an amateur ‘rock’ arrangement, there is a version on Soundcloud at this link.

Why?

Friends, I write songs and sing about the things which affect my life. And I am immersed in the Climate Crisis. And I don’t think I am alone. Even people who are not active in any way understand that “something is not right”. And singing is a way to communicate with the clientele of The Mason’s Arms, very few of whom follow my blog.

Lyrics

Friends, I’m just an old man, trying to live my life in peace.
I’m no kind of… revolutionary.
But there’s something going on. Something really wrong.
And it affects my kids and that means I can’t sleep…

So… I’m trying to save the world, one day at a time,
Making up for what my generation’s done.
I’m trying to save the world, one day at a time,
Because my children have to live here when I’m gone.

The Good Earth gives us everything we need.
But the Earth’s in pain, she’s begun to scream and bleed…
The Good Earth doesn’t need us. Doesn’t need to feed us.
So when the Earth’s in pain – we’d best take heed.

So… I’m trying to save the world, one day at a time,
Making up for what my generation’s done.
I’m trying to save the world, one day at a time,
Because my children have to live here when I’m gone.

We’ve been burning oil and coal, for about two centuries.
And now the whole world’s getting hotter every year.
Some say we can’t afford to stop. But I say we can’t afford to not!
Because no amount of money, can repair Earth’s atmosphere.

So… I’m trying to save the world, one day at a time,
Making up for what my generation’s done.
I’m trying to save the world, one day at a time,
Because my children have to live here when I’m gone.

I am just one person, you’re one person too.
And these problems seem impossibly too grand.
But we all care for our kids. And if each of just did,
What we need to, then our kids might have a chance.

So… Let’s try to save the world together, one day at a time,
Let’s make up for what our generation’s done.
Let’s try to save the world together, one day at a time,
Because our children have to live here when we’re gone.

So… Let’s try to save the world together, one day at a time,
Let’s make up for what our generation’s done.
Let’s try to save the world together, one day at a time,
And hope our children will forgive us when we’re gone.

©Michael de Podesta 2024

9 Responses to “Saving the World One Day at a Time”

  1. gp362148 Says:

    Michael, I fully share your feelings but I am not good at writing and expressing my feelings you do. Thank you for sharing this heartfelt lyrics.

  2. Alan Chapman Says:

    Great song Michael, I am coming to stay with my children and grandchildren from 10th-17th July to escape the unbearable heat of Andalucia,Spain. Are you performing at the Masons Arms in Teddington during this period? Would love to meet with you as I share your concern for our descendants future on our fragile planet.

    • protonsforbreakfast Says:

      Alan, sadly the ‘Open Mike’ is at the end of each month. But if you are in the area do drop me a line and perhaps we could share a coffee or a beer.

      All the best

      Michael

      • Alan Chapman Says:

        Michael, I arrive on the 9thJuly and will e-mail you then so hopefully we can meet for a coffee!

  3. janet5835bbb28e Says:

    Good stuff, Michael. I’m sharing it widely, and hope everyone notices my favourite cartoon at the end!

  4. Peter Norman Says:

    Hi Michael,     I’ve been puzzling over how your songs might best see broadly productive use to society and the answer has magically arisen (rather appropriately) this Easter Monday via the BBC Freeview Text News.     I hadn’t appreciated that if we think or sing a 4-minute song whilst taking a shower at home, then that helps us to maintain a useful energy-saving tip which must surely include optimal water supply volume usage as well as heating energy. This is still ‘expert’ recommended UK procedure despite the latest energy price cap drop from April.     Therefore, I would recommend keeping your songs limited to the traditional 4-minute performance duration. I believe that originated from the length of playing time for a typical 45rpm recorded audio disk on a wind-up gramophone before the spring needed another wind-up from the handle*. I think it’s also viewed as an ideal time duration for typical human concentration on a topic (on TV progs). However, it can also help us save on essential energy and water resources to reduce our costs and help save the planet and this an added bonus value for your planet-saving lyrics.

        Perhaps a written safety warning may be justified for possible intake of mouthfuls of soapy water during a spirited vocal performance in the live shower environment especially if using the spray head a microphone.

        I’m forever wondering how modern British music out-performs the works written centuries ago but I can now appreciate that *Handel needed many rewinds of the gramophone handle to fit in all those Hallelujahs = very long showers + Holst’s Planet Suite never did anything useful to save any planets from global warming or extinction.

    Regards, Peter Norman

    • protonsforbreakfast Says:

      Peter,

      Thanks for your thoughts. I always try to keep my songs short – I aim for less than tin-pan alley’s standard of 3-minutes – but I don’t always make it!

      But I will now add “Can I sing it in the shower?” to the list of questions I ask of myself as I compose a song.

      Best wishes

      Michael

Leave a comment