Big Storm

Friends, today I offer you a song about Climate Change: Big Storm. (You Tube Link). If songs aren’t your thing, don’t worry, normal service will be resumed presently.

I spend a lot of my time writing and singing and recording songs. It’s a time-consuming business, but it is nothing compared to the hassle of making a video. This video passed the low bar I set for “good enough”, but I am aware that the lip-synching is poor, and that I occasionally become slightly transparent! There is also much more of my own face than I feel comfortable with. I can imagine a much better video – but I don’t have the technical ability to make it!

Nonetheless, I like the song. I hope you enjoy it too.

Big Storm Lyrics

There’s a big storm coming, I can feel it in the air.
If you care to look around, you’ll see the signs are everywhere.
There’s a big storm coming, it’s getting closer every day.
Stay with your family, you could all… be blown away.

Climate change is with us, Climate Chaos everywhere.
Climate Change Deniers on TV swear round is square.
Climate change is with us, feels like there’s no relief.
We’ve made a deal with the devil, and he’s turning up the heat.

There’s a big flood coming, the water’s rising every day.
Slow and relentless, that’s water’s way.
There’s a big flood coming, but you’re not ready yet.
No-one thinks the flood will really come… until their feet get wet.

The climate we grew up in, is gone, never to return.
The meadows we once wandered in, will turn to dust and burn.
The Good Earth once provided us with everything we need.
But now we’ve sacrificed its future, on the altar of our greed.

There’s long hot summer brewing, the grass has turned to straw.
Farmers are complaining, nothing’s growing anymore.
There’s long hot summer brewing, and we all know why.
No-one thinks the drought will really come… until their taps run dry.

Climate change is with us, Climate Chaos everywhere.
Climate Change Deniers on TV swear a circle is a square.
Climate change is with us, and there’s no relief.
We’ve made a deal with the devil, and he’s turning up the heat.

 

6 Responses to “Big Storm”

  1. angiesgrandad Says:

    This is great, Michael! If you’re worried about the technical quality, I’m sure one of your readers will have the skills to help you. With social media having such an impact these days, this could become a YouTube sensation and really spread the message.

    • protonsforbreakfast Says:

      Chas, that would be a lovely outcome. Someone else suggested having it the music produced professionally, but I can’t quite take myself that seriously: I feel a bit old!

      Anyway – best wishes

      M

  2. Gordon Rowlands Says:

    I think this is great. Well done and it deserves to be shared widely. I particularly like the way flood and drought are presented as two sides of the same coin.

    • protonsforbreakfast Says:

      Gordon, Good Afternoon,

      Yes, it is an odd thing that both flooding and drought are features of our new reality.

      And thanks for you kind words. M

  3. john-H Says:

    Well, I liked it. I thought that some of the metaphysical imagery was really particularly effective. Interesting rhythmic devices too, which seemed to counterpoint the surrealism of the underlying metaphor of the humanity of the author’s compassionate soul, which contrives through the medium of the verse structure to sublimate this, transcend that, and come to terms with the fundamental dichotomies of the other, and one is left with a profound and vivid insight into whatever it was the song was about.
    (With apologies to Douglas Adams)

    Quite catchy actually 😊

    • protonsforbreakfast Says:

      John

      Thanks. I love your review! My favourite part was “quite catchy actually“!

      All the best

      Michael

Leave a comment