Coping by counting

months-to-retirement

Just 6 weeks ago, I reflected that 2016 hadn’t been as bad as some previous years.

Sadly the start to 2017 has been a nightmare. But I am trying to stay positive.

As many people know, one way to cope with stress is to breathe deeply, and count slowly.

Following this reasoning, I created the chart above which allows me to count down the months  until I can claim my state pension.

In fact I could possibly retire a few months before that. The single red figure in April 2025 is the date that our mortgage will be paid off – and that is less than 100 months away!

It’s a long count but if I just keep calm and remember to breathe…. two…three…,  I think I can count down from 107.

Resources

If you would like to do something similar:

  • You can calculate the number of days between different events here:
  • You can find out your State Pension Age here

Keep calm!

One Response to “Coping by counting”

  1. Ryan Nichol Says:

    This is both depressing and utterly wonderful. Although I confess both retirement and paying off our mortgage are so unimaginably far in the future as to be akin to man exploring the stars.

Leave a Reply

