Still learning after all these years

David Archer teaching a course on Global Warming

David Archer teaching a course on Global Warming

I have had to teach myself the physics of global warming.

And as an autodidact, I have suffered from the misfortune of having been taught by an idiot.

So ‘attending’ an online course about Global Warming is a genuine pleasure: it is so much easier than teaching oneself!

All I have to do is to listen – and re-listen – and then answer the questions.

Someone else has selected the topics that they feel are most important and determined the order of presentation.

Taking the course on-line allows me to expose my ignorance to no-one but myself and the course-bot.

And in this low-stress environment it is possible to remember the sheer pleasure of just learning stuff.

On line courses

Using the FutureLearn platform, I have taken courses on Global WarmingSoil, and Programming in Python.

I have participated with dual aims. In part I have wanted to learn about the topic. But also I have been curious to experience ‘a course’ from a student’s perspective.

The current course uses the Coursera platform and is much more technical than any of the Futurelearn courses I have tried previously.

For me that’s fine, but my guess is that the mathematical level is somewhere between GCSE and ‘A’ level and many people would find that intimidating.

The course assessments are also genuinely challenging, requiring the use of quite complex online software, and implicitly, the use of a spreadsheet or calculator.

One pleasing aspect of the course – for me at least – is that the course lecturer (David Archer) basically stands in front of a blackboard and talks.

He dresses like a physicist, and sounds like a physicist, and makes mistakes on the blackboard – it’s just like being back at University!

And in the vacuum between Christmas and New Year it has been a pleasure to lose myself in this on-line world.

Continuous Professional Development

‘Attending’ this course has also had a curious personal resonance for me.

I recently applied to become a ‘Fellow’ of the Institute of Physics – I am currently ‘only’ a member.

I first filled out the application form in 2013 – three years ago – and I thought I was doing well until I came to the section marked ‘CPD- Continuous Professional Development’.

The section was marked with a stern warning that it was not optional. Unfortunately, I couldn’t think of a single word to put in the section. So I just forgot about the application.

Each year since I have re-visited the form and fallen at the same hurdle.

But this year I asked some colleagues for help. It turns out that attending courses like this is actually CPD!

Who knew!

 

 

Leave a Reply

