NPL Laboratory Doors

Just one of several hundred signs on NPL Laboratory Doors. The movie below has them all!

Just one of several hundred signs on NPL Laboratory Doors. The movie below has them all!

I am currently in Lisbon attending the ANIMMA 2015 conference.

  • Advancements in Nuclear Instrumentation Measurement Methods and their Applications

I gave my talk yesterday which means I can relax a bit more now.

The talk included a live demonstration of a new type of thermometer which I hope will prove useful to someone here.

The talk went well. By this I mean that the talk was followed by many questions rather than deadly silence.

And the demonstration worked! The thermometer is an acoustic thermometer consisting of a tube with a tiny microphone and speaker at one end.

I used the microphone/loudspeaker connection on my laptop to ping sound along a tube and measure the echo.

And using clever software written by colleagues I could work out the temperature.

I think the simplicity of the demonstration convinced people that the technique was real rather than just another idea.

I hope so because many people worked very hard for years to make it that simple!

NPL Doors

While I am away, I hope you enjoy the movie at the head of the page.

I made it a few months ago by walking up and down every corridor in NPL taking a picture of the title of each lab door.

It took more than two hours just to take the pictures! But the movie takes only a little over 4 minutes.

My aim was to try to capture the diversity of activities at NPL.

I hope you enjoy it and find at least one lab door with an intriguing title.

 

 

 

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

