My Election Suggestions

The fraction of my salary that I paid in tax and national insurance since 1987. Despite my salary increasing, the fraction of income paid to the government has fallen by 6.4% which currently amounts to about £3,400.

Data collected from my pay-slips showing the fraction of my salary that I paid in tax and national insurance since 1987. Since 2005, the fraction of my income paid directly to the government has fallen by 6.4% which currently amounts to about £3,400 per year.

As the election approaches I have been disappointed to find no political party proposing policies that make sense to me.

So just to get them off my chest, here are three policy proposals concerning the deficit, climate change and education.

The deficit.

Over the last 10 years the fraction of my gross income that I pay in income tax and national insurance has fallen from 28.8% to 22.3%, which currently amounts to £3,400 per year (See the graph at the head of the page).

During that period my salary (adjusted for inflation to the value of 2015 pounds) has stayed roughly constant at around £50,000.

To reduce the deficit to zero will take extreme cuts in government spending, or the raising of two or three thousand pounds a year from each working person.

It seems obvious to me that the optimum response should include some rises in general taxation, but no political party seems to even dare suggest this.

My proposal would be to:

  •  Increase taxes on people like me.

Nobody likes paying tax, but I could afford quite big tax increases and it would affect me relatively little.  I know this because 10 years ago I used to pay additional tax and life was just fine.

Climate Change.

Changing our way of living so that so that we can maintain decent lifestyles but reduce our negative impact on the climate is – to me – the greatest challenge facing us all.

But even the Green Party barely mentions Climate Change!

My proposal would be

  • To make the target of reducing emissions by 80% by 2050 into a series of yearly targets,

So that we would know what we needed to do now to achieve our 2050 goal.

Education.

If I could choose an educational system, it would be different from what we have now. But actually, probably not too different.

The most precious thing a child can encounter is an enthused teacher – but these gentle life-enhancing creatures are becoming rarer.

Their habitat and way of life has been attacked from all sides. The constant ‘reform’ of education means that after a year or two mauling, these sensitive teachers leave the profession. One third don’t even last a year.

My proposal would be:

  • To do nothing about education for 5 years 

Just to give everyone a break

Would I get your vote?

OK, I’ll stick to the day job and hope it doesn’t get cut after the election!

4 Responses to “My Election Suggestions”

  1. Ed Hui Says:

    You’re in cloud cuckoo land. You’re assuming that everyone else is a decent hardworking community spirited well informed person like yourself. If everyone were like you, we wouldn’t need defence, we wouldn’t need police, we wouldn’t need speed cameras, we wouldn’t have global warming and frankly we’d probably be better off home schooling. Government would be tiny and your tax bill would be a fraction of what it is. The problem with government is how to govern people who aren’t like you- people who believe state borrowing is free money; people who think lower taxes would allow them to get richer; people who either don’t believe climate is a problem or think there are no solutions; and people who think they know better than teachers how to teach.

    What you need is a twice yearly course teaching members of the public how to become better informed about this; a course that would show people that there are other decent members of the local community. You’ve got a good name for your blog already, why not name the course Protons for Breakfast and see if NPL would host it?

    Either that or a benevolent dictator? You up for it?
    Ed

  2. protonsforbreakfast Says:

    🙂

  3. Dominic Says:

    Don’t we also need to address the BIG problem of coming to terms with the limits of growth? I see no party willing to address that, even environmentalists…

  4. protonsforbreakfast Says:

    That’s a very good point. But I hardly know even how to beginto address that. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

