Live Fish; Live Music; The importance of being there.

This picture shows a gigantic tank of jellyfish with people silhouetted in the foreground. Picture taken at teh MOnterey Aquarium, California.

A gigantic tank of jellyfish with people silhouetted in the foreground. Picture taken at the Monterey Aquarium, California.

I hope you like the picture above. As you look at the picture you probably can’t tell if the vivid colours are on a screen or whether I took the picture of people in front of  a real tank of jellyfish

But I was there. And the jelly fish were very real.

I gazed in open-mouthed wonder at the delicacy of the structure of their bodies. And I desperately wanted to capture something of the experience.

Now when I look at the picture I recall that feeling of wonder but I don’t really know what you feel.

Two musicians playing Jazz at 'The Melt' a small cafe on Columbus AVenue, San Francisco.

Two musicians playing Jazz at ‘The Melt’ a small cafe on Columbus AVenue, San Francisco.

The picture above shows two musicians who happened to start playing at ‘The Melt’ on Columbus Avenue in San Francisco just after we stopped in for a snack. As you look at the picture you probably wonder what they were playing or if they were good.

But I was there. I remember being so happy that we had chanced upon this place.

And I remember my son’s happiness when we all recognised the beginning of ‘So What’ by Miles Davis. I left a $5 tip for them.

I mention these two occasions because  as I looked at the photographs I realised that the photographs did not capture my happiness or wonder.

And I just thought I would make a note – largely for myself – about how pictures communicate something – but what they communicate is not always the experience of the photographer.

And that there is really no substitute for ‘being there’.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Live Fish; Live Music; The importance of being there.”

  1. teddnet Says:

    Yes, but your pictures with your words do a pretty good job when combined. As your photography improves, so does its ability to communicate. You are discovering that there is no such thing as ‘Artist’ or ‘Scientist’. I am increasingly of the view that we should be teaching Polymathematics in school. I loved this article- I think you might enjoy it too: http://aeon.co/magazine/world-views/anyone-can-learn-to-be-a-polymath/
    Ed

  2. nplfellow Says:

    And there is no substitute for the memory of having been there. For some reason, live music heard on holidays is particularly memorable. Once in New York we came across a tenor sax. player in a subway playing one of my favourite tunes, Perfidia, as once recorded (1940?) by Helen Forrest with Benny Goodman. I was quite over whelmed for some reason and showed my appreciation in the suitable fashion adopted by you. Glad you’re having a great time. We’re off the IOW tomorrow – maybe we’ll find some great music??

    • teddnet Says:

      You’re right, of course. In 1984 I was at some lake well off the beaten track in New Zealand, when a fellow tourist at the same viewing point sang the Skye Boat Song. I guess the scenery moved her to it- whether she was a professional soprano showing off I have no idea, but at the time it was magical, and you’ve just reminded me of it. That’s 30 years ago, probably about to the day.

Leave a Reply

