Happy Christmas 2013

Christmasium: 100% pure Christmas: Caution: this element may induce festivactivity with a half-life of 6 days.

Christmasium: 100% pure Christmas.

It’s a little bit early to shut up shop for Christmas, but frankly I have had enough of 2013.

There have been successes, but since 2000, when I escaped the bullying environment of UCL Physics Department, I have never been unhappier at work. I have also never been busier: I can’t recall a single weekend in which I have not been working, preparing for some looming deadline or scrambling to finish stuff which was already late.

So my aim over the break is to stop and try and catch my breath and think how I want to deal with 2014.

However one aspect of my life which I intend to keep up with in 2014 is this blog. I really enjoy the process of trying to distil my thoughts into a few hundred words once or twice a week.

And the thought that you, dear reader, take the time to read these words and occasionally share your comments, makes it seem like the enterprise is not entirely solitary.

So: thank you: I wish you a Happy Christmas and every best wish for 2014.

Michael

Tags:

4 Responses to “Happy Christmas 2013”

  1. Rainer Winkler Says:

    Dear Michael,

    I occasionally read your blog and most of the time I learn something I didn’t know, or it makes me laugh, or it reminds me again why we enjoy doing experimental physics.

    Besides, you are a truly inspiring colleague. Thank you.

    With best wishes for a peaceful Christmas.

    Rainer

  2. Steve Says:

    all the very best to you and yours Michael, best wishes for 2014

  3. Charlie Says:

    Happy Christmas Michael
    See you soon
    Charlie

  4. Chiara Says:

    Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm for science!
    Hopefully next year (and the following 100) will be much less stressful
    Chiara & Gianluca

Leave a Reply

