Protons for Breakfast: Sad news

PfB logo

Have you eaten protons for breakfast?

Having just completed the 18th presentation of Protons for Breakfast to the largest and most enthusiastic audience ever, I have reluctantly decided that the time has come to stop.

In fact the course won’t stop just now, but instead there will be two more presentations in the spring and autumn of 2014, and it will stop one year from now.

I confess to feeling sad – heartbroken in fact – but I hope I will feel better in the New Year.

Anyway. I just thought I would let people know.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Protons for Breakfast: Sad news”

  1. Ian Anderson Says:

    Michael, I am sure people will be sad to hear this news and I remember the first one you did as i was on that course .
    I would like to wish You and your family and all the helpers a very Happy Christmas.

    Ian

    • protonsforbreakfast Says:

      Ian

      Thank you: And thank you for all you help during the years. You are a star;

      All the best to you and your family too.

      M

  2. Edmond Hui Says:

    Sad? SAD?? THE public face of NPL. THE epitome of all that is great about public access science. FREE. Including biscuits. In the name of all that is metrology do you not have a better unit than ‘sad’?

  3. protonsforbreakfast Says:

    I know: I struggled for the correct word – and heartbroken was mentioned. FYI Sadness is normally measured in SI units i.e. sad, megasad etc., but the ‘heartbroken’ is a non-SI unit of sadness with a logarithmic scale: 1 heartbroken = 10^sad.

Leave a Reply

