If I ruled the world…

The video above is a time-lapse movie of the view from the International Space Station (ISS) as it flies through the night. And I share it with you for the simple reason I love the video. In itself it seems to me a justification of the installation of a ‘picture window’ on the ISS, and possibly of the entire project. As I mentioned before, if I ruled the world, I would chill out weekends on the ISS, put on some nice music and just float in the cupola and watch the Earth drift by.

I didn’t recognise many of the land masses on view, but at 1 minute and 9 seconds the space station is looking from over the Alps in Northern Italy down along the length of Italy. It then flies across Northern Greece, Turkey – Cyprus is visible – Israel and then Iraq at 1 minute 20 seconds.

Have a nice weekend.

cupola

The 'cupola' on the International Space Station. This is where I would hang out if I were an astronaut.

One Response to “If I ruled the world…”

  1. Jeff Says:

    Fact-checkers out there : I just saw a claim that the 2008 bank bailout cost the US more than NASA has cost since its inception. Makes the ISS look like good value.

Leave a Reply

