Julia Gillard: We need you here!

Julia Gillard

Julia Gillard you're my hero. Picture from The Telegraph

A couple of weeks ago I wrote an article in praise of Julia Gillard‘s early steps towards carbon taxation in Australia.  And I commented on the fact that although she had always seemed a slightly graceless politician, I could not help but be impressed!

Now, I don’t normally write about ‘news’ but I am interested the state of the press, and have often expressed my frustration at the appalling quality of so many press ‘stories’ particularly about scientific topics. And so I was fascinated to read today that Julia Gillard had again spoken truth to power. Addressing the Australian National Press Club in Canberra she advised them:

”Don’t write crap … Can’t be that hard,”

”And when you have written complete crap, then I think you should correct it.”

Julia: We need you in the UK: please think about coming back to the land of your birth.

Leave a Reply

