Protons for Breakfast 14

Van de Graaff Generator: Click for full size

Van de Graaff Generator: Click for full size

It is the scientific equivalent of a literary cliché. I am sorry, but it is true. To electrically charge a young woman with long fine hair and see the hair fly out in all directions. How un-original! Nonetheless, despite the ‘cliché’, it is great to see it happen live, and it is great to experience it yourself. It’s one of the things I love about Protons for Breakfast.

A Wimshurst machine commanded by a Protonista

A Wimshurst machine commanded by a Protonista

I had felt particularly anxious about this presentation of Protons for Breakfast. I felt as if I had not had quite enough time to think and prepare.  But happily as we assembled before the class, the positivity and general wonderfulness of the helpers buoyed me and reminded me of the simple pleasure of being in command of a Wimshurst machine! And then I was OK!

So the 14th presentation is now underway and I must get on with responding to the feedback and answering the questions.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

