Battery Recycling: Good News

Batteries for recycling

Batteries for recycling

The BBC informs me that EU legislation now requires shops that sell significant amounts of batteries (more than 32 kg per year) to offer recycling points in store. At last.

I had written to my local Tesco asking them to offer recycling some years ago and they just said ‘No’. And then last week I noticed a recycling point had appeared. Now I know why. So Tesco – with a turnover of in excess of £50 billion and profits in excess of £3 billion refused to offer recycling of batteries containing toxic chemicals until it was forced to do so by law. Mmmm. I think this tells me everything I need to know about how ‘green’ a large corporation really is if it has the choice to be otherwise.

Leave a Reply

